Barrow parkrun – Event number 411 – 28th September 2019

At the weekly free, timed, 5km Barrow parkrun this week we welcomed 146 people who ran, jogged and walked the course. 17 were first timers and 24 recorded new Personal Bests. Representatives of 14 different clubs took part.

The event was made possible by 18 volunteers:

Stuart John Wallace • David Farish • Graham Carr • Donna Bates • Michael Cook • Val Fleming • David James Marr • Helen Marr • Darren Mcsweeney • John Wearing • Fred Bagley • David Howie • Maria Blakey • Ann Horton • Valerie Hayward • Harrison Marr • Brian Leece • Cheryl Merrin-Rankin

Saturday’s full results and a complete event history can be found on the Barrow parkrun Results Page, Just search for the Barrow parkrun website and you’ll find all the information and history you’ll ever need.

The first three men to finish this week were:

1          Cameron BELL         18:43

2          Aiden MOYLES        19:10

3          Sean ROBERTS      19:29

and the first three ladies were:

1          Louise TIDBURY     23:14

2          Karen GRIFFITHS   23:57

3          Laura EDWARDS    24:00

After the run everyone met at the Pavillion café in the park where coffee, tea, ice creams and cakes are enjoyed by parkrunners and we ever thankful for the team opening up the café every Saturday morning for us.

Next week is Barrow parkrun’s 8th Birthday! This coincides with the 15th anniversary of the first parkrun at Bushy park in London, a double celebration. We are dedicating this milestone parkrun to the memory of Gillian (Jill) Thompson, one of the pillars of Barrow parkrun whose funeral took place on Wednesday this week.

Since Barrow parkrun started 4,780 participants have completed 53,047 parkruns!

Parkrun is completely free to enter, register at and print off your barcode, then bring it along to the bandstand on Saturday morning to receive a great welcome and join in the fun!

With all our celebrations this week we are asking for runners to arrive in plenty of time for the pre-run briefing at 8:45am, Thank You.

See you there!

Darren McS