Sweatshop prize: December 2013

The Sweatshop prize winner for December 2013 is ....


Fiona has been running at the park since 2010 clocking up a total 62 runs. Over the months and years it has been a tale of consistent improvement as Fiona's times progressed down from 29 minutes in a steady stream of PBs. This year she's broken through 25 minutes, 24 minutes and finally last month went under 23 minutes with a fantastic 22.58 effort. Fiona has been shortlisted before and has also contributed as a volunteer marshal.

parkrun is for runners of all abilities and we like to recognise the achievements of those at the front, back and middle of the field ... and everyone in between. This month as the paths became more muddy, slippery and strewn with Santas it got a bit harder to post improvements. But nonetheless several runners stood out: but particularly noticed the achievements of Emma Turner, Tim Marsh, Brian Griffiths, Henry Everitt and young Amy Sanders.

Congratulations to Fiona who wins a new pair of running shoes fitted by our friends at Sweatshop. We hope the new shoes will inspire her to even faster times in the park and beyond. Our nearest Sweatshop stores are Hyde and Arndale Centre - http://www.sweatshop.co.uk/storefinder.cfm. Look out for an email with your prize certificate!

Sweatshop are a major sponsor of the parkrun organisation and every month generously provide this prize for a runner of any standard who has performed well in the month and shown overall improvement and commitment to the parkrun. Since April 2008, Sweatshop has provided over 70 pairs of running shoes to parkrunners at Bramhall alone! Many thanks to Sweatshop owner Hugh Brasher and his team for their continued support of our work in grassroots athletics.

Out of interest, here is the list of Sweatshop Prize Winners at Bramhall:

May: Ken Livingstone
Jun: Ryan Charles
Jul: Marion Lester
Aug: Frances Buggy
Sep: Paul M Cooke
Oct: David Robert Brown
Nov: Suzie Flint
Dec: Tony Smith

Jan: Meshal Abushel
Feb: Josh Lister
Mar: Alex Miller
Apr: James Kemp
May: Michael Hammerton
Jun: Joanne Hunt
Jul: Kevin Acton
Aug: Frank Podd
Sep: Carol Hatch
Oct: Martin Kirk
Nov: Chris Booth
Dec: Adam Davies

Jan: Cathy Brewster
Feb: Kate Thompson
Mar: Gavin Brown
Apr: Pamela Sharp
May: Adam Langfield
Jun: Stephen Davies
Jul: Laura Bostock
Aug: Sue Brooks
Sep: John Penney
Oct: Dave Marshall
Nov: Ian Clarke
Dec: Paul Garnett

Jan: Claire Northcote
Feb: Andy Farnsworth
Mar: Jonny Downing
Apr: Peter Edkins
May: Eamonn Dunlea
Jun: Graham McCarthy
Jul: David Holmes
Aug: Nicola Lloyd
Sep: Robert Currie
Oct: Simon Armour
Nov: Neil Coulson
Dec: Becky Styles

Jan: Andrew Cordes
Feb: Martin Rutter
Mar: Mike Williams
Apr: Callum Coulson
May: Lok Li
Jun: Tony Philips
Jul: Andrew Galloway
Aug: Keith Watkinson
Sep: Adrian Jarvis
Oct: Karl Tavini
Nov: John Blampied
Dec: Simon R Smith

Jan: Rachel Singer
Feb: Rachael Benson
Mar: Clara Jarvis
Apr: Paul Norris
May: Mark Corcoran
Jun: Kathy Rogers
Jul: Eve Gibson
Aug: James Cooper
Sep: Dave Roberts
Oct: (re-awarded)
Nov: Simon Fennell
Dec: Fiona Cooke

And that is a lot of trainers ... thanks again Sweatshop!