Starting the year the parkrun way – Lloyd parkrun Report #441 by Debra Bourne

“Happy New Year” we greeted each other, arriving at Lloyd Parkrun setup this morning – me and my husband Aidan to Eric, Nick, Jane, Paul, Alex and Colin, who were this morning’s set-up crew. As on Saturday it was a bit dull and overcast, but it remained dry and mild, with no breeze to speak of.

The mud was drier on Saturday than it had been on Christmas Day, and this morning the ground was even drier than it had been on Saturday – very unusual for this time of year.

Nobody ran an official parkrun milestone run with us, but Ron West ran his 300th parkrun, following that by hopping over to Roundshaw Downs for his 301st, while Darren Jackson ran his 299th parkrun with us followed by his 300th at Bromley parkrun over in Normans Park.

After the run, this Being New Year’s Day, there was hot spiced apple juice and fruity, seedy, cinnamon-laced flapjacks for everyone to enjoy – if they had time before dashing off to their second parkrun. New Year’s Day is the only day of the year when you can run in and be recorded as taking part in two parkruns on the same day. (A few years back it was possible to do three on New Year’s Day, but for various reasons that is no longer permitted.)

Tom Higgs (South London Harriers) finished in the great time of 16:33 today, followed by Stephen Thackeray (Kent AC) in 17:50 and Robert Lines (Selsdon Baptist Church Runners) in 18:36. Jessica Moore (Croydon Harriers) led the women round, in 22:01, with Kate O’Loughlin next in a PB of 23:07 and Michelle Edye (Clapham Common Chasers) close behind in 23:11.

Only three runners were total newcomers to parkrun this morning – welcome Zoe, Eric and Katie – but we had a further 28 people completing their first Lloyd parkrun: many of course heading for the double with Roundshaw Downs or Bromley.

An excellent start to the year for 20 parkrunners who ran PBs (nearly 10% of our 217 finishers): congratulations to Ian Yates, Colin Lynch, Agnimitra Ghosh, Peter Lawton, Kate O'Loughlin, Adrianne Gibbins, Ian R Wesson, Lamie Kendrick, Antara Singh, Alexander Gee, Michael Ashiotis, Carol Johnson, Heidi Allen, Theo Flanagan, Gavin Englefield, John Cazabon, Lynda Cameron, Chloe Nicola Constantinou, Clara Smowton and Joe Victor.

Krzysztof Klidzia was our sole runner over 80% age graded this morning. Tom Higgs, Robert Lines, Matthew Stone, Stephen Thakeray, Mark Constantinou, Lee Flanagan, Colin Oxlade, Isaac Flanagan, Roger Stevens and Stephen Harris all ran over 70% - great running.

Today’s amazing volunteers were Nina Bennet, James Carter, Caroline Corfield, Julie Corfield, Paul Elliott, Nick Fiander, Jennifer Gutteridge, Colin Jackson, Zsofia Jones, Louise Lauder, Jennifer Little, Azra Mathias, Alex Morrall, Erik Schrijnemaekers, Stephen Siu, Jane Sparks, Rosemarie Stevens, Debra Bourne and Aidan Dixon.

Wishing everyone a healthy, happy, injury-free 2019 – with lots of parkrunning.