London Marathon and parkrun

The London Marathon is an official supporter of parkrun, providing support to the 5K grassroot events around the UK in the coming year.

The London Marathon hopes that with their support of the parkrun series will be able to keep expanding in 2013 and beyond, offering free running events to more communities across the UK. This is a great way of increasing participation in the sport as well as providing runners with a regular weekly event.

John Disley and the late Chris Brasher founded the London Marathon in 1981. The race has since grown in size, stature and popularity. Now established among the major events in the sporting calendar, the London Marathon is shown on television in more than 150 countries around the world each year. This year the London Marathon will be celebrating its 30th successful year. The world renowned event attracts runners from all over the UK and abroad contributing to the some 36,000 participants per marathon.

Enthusiasm for running is continually on the increase. The parkruns are a great way to maximise and compliment this increasing interest and the London Marathon are keen to support the parkrun series as it takes on a new level of development.

For further information on the London Marathon and details of other running events organised by the London Marathon, please click here.

Marathon in Numbers

  • The London Marathon holds a Guinness World Record for the Largest Annual fundraising event.
  • The 2010 London Marathon raised £50.6million for charity.
  • In total there have been 817,890 people who have completed the London Marathon since the first in 1981.
  • The amount of charity money raised since the first London Marathon is £506million.
  • The total of money granted by the London Marathon Charitable Trust to London Boroughs since it was founded in 1981 to date is over £40,000,000.
  • The world record for the fastest marathon is held by Patrick Makau who ran a time of 2 hours 3 minutes and 38 seconds.
  • The Course records for the London Marathon are 2:04:40 set by Emmanuel Mutai and 2:15:25 (mixed race) set by Paula Radcliffe.