Welcome to 2014

Well it's a brand new year and on the 3rd January, Workington parkrun will reach it's 30th event which is a fantastic achievement.

I would like to say a huge thank you to those volunteers who have made it possible each week and supported the setting up of the event, otherwise, frankly, there would be no run! Special thanks to Shaun, Tony, Sheila, Keith, Chris, Matthew who have given up their running time so often during those 30 weeks to make sure we have the scanners, timers and barcodes covered. There are lots of others who have also covered those roles, marshaled and set up but I don't want to start naming them all in case I miss someone! Their are new runners and supporters coming forward each week wanting to lend a hand which is great so lets keep it going.

The New Years day results aren't up yet but will be over the weekend, but each week we see new first timers giving it a go, and hopefully we can encourage some more to start their New Years resolutions with us!
From the run on the 28th December:

Fabulous to see first timers - Martin Kirkbride, Hannah Simm, Julie Richardson, Tracey Owen, Matt Sullivan and Christian Jones - hope we see you back again soon.

Well done to the 4 ladies who got new PB's (come on fellas!) Jaclyn Grey who go a new PB at 35.11 minutes an improvement of 1.45 minutes over 3 runs, excellent, Ann Slaymaker, Rhiannon Jones, Ashlyn Holliday also got new PB's on the 28th.

Our 1st female to cross the line first was on the 28th December, Abbie Hetherington did the course in 18 minutes, obviously not feeling the effects of the turkey and chocolates. Abbie was closely followed by the first male over the line - Philip Cueto who completed in 18.56 minutes. Well done to both.

Just a quick mention to those who have now achieved their 20th Workington runs - well done to Bev Faulder (24 runs, wowsers!), David Chapman and Richard Williams (both 22 runs), and loads have reached their 10th run over the last few weeks - Norman, Tony Briscoe, Stephen Hackley, John Thompson, Tony Jewell, Faye Malkinson, Ian Vatter, Daniel Strange and Joanne Coyle so well done to all of you as well, it's a great effort.

So happy new year to all, hopefully we'll see you more regularly as we come into the spring, the routes lovely and dry so no more soggy socks!

See you soon