Volunteer of the Year Award for Wyre Forest parkrun

We received an award this week! Our volunteers (with particular focus on the core team) were awarded 'Volunteer of the Year' at the 2015 Wyre Forest District Council Sports Awards.

wfdc volunteer award prize 2015

Run Directors Joanne Watson and Andie Ford collected the award on behalf of the core team on Monday evening at a presentation at Wyre Forest House.

wfdc volunteer award2015

Wyre Forest parkrun started on August 29th 2015 but many of the core team were in place almost 12 months ago making plans behind the scenes. Our local parkrun Ambassador Richard Ralphs and Dale Evans of Wyre Forest District Council worked with Event Director Andie Ford and officers from the Forestry Commission to get the event started.

Since the inaugural run back in August 1,013 different parkrunners have completed our challenging course over 20 weeks, totalling 2,597 finishes and averaging 129 runners per week.
Volunteers at wyreforest parkrun

The core team is made up of enthusiastic members of Cleobury Mortimer Running Club (www.runcleobury.org) but has since been joined by many other regular helpers. Over 80 different volunteers have given up their time for free. We thank you all.

Volunteers at wyreforest parkrun

Congratulations to all of the core team: Andie Ford, Adrian Ford, Joanne Watson, Vicky Honeybourne, Andy Garlick, Lisa Garlick and Chris Simpson and thank you to everyone who has given up your time to make Wyre Forest parkrun such a special event. There are far too many to mention unfortunately but we are grateful to each and every one of you!

Volunteers at wyreforest parkrun

Older Tagged Posts ⇒
⇐ Newer Tagged Posts